Building Simulation and Optimization 2020

September 21st and 22nd 2020

IBPSA England's First Virtual Conference

Hosted by the Building Energy Research Group at Loughborough University

BSO-V 2020

This Building Simulation and Optimization conference 2020 will be IBPSA England's first virtual conference. We are excited to develop an innovative approach for exchanging knowledge and ideas in response to the impacts of COVID-19.

What is a Virtual Conference?

A virtual conference is a curated series of webinars, online meet-ups, and one-to-one chats to enable the exchange of knowledge, creation of new networks and generation of innovative ideas.

Benefits of a Virtual Conference

Recorded Presentations available to conference attendees

Broaden Your Reach. Attendees can participate from all

Connect with more people through facilitated networking

Reduce greenhouse gas emissions from reduced air travel


Authors Instructions

The full papers should be between 6 and 8 pages long. The abstract should include the papers objectives, research methods, and novelty. More details can be found in either the word or Latex templates.

Key Dates

Paper submission deadline: 15 May 2020
Paper review result: TBD
Final paper submission: TBD
Final paper decision: TBD

Journal of Building Performance Simulation Special Issue

The best BSO papers will be invited to contribute to a special issue of the Journal of Building Performance Simulation. More information about the special issue will be provided soon.  

Call for Practitioner Presentations

Are you working in the field of Building Design and Simulation? Do you use optimization or parametric design tools? Present your latest work at the conference.

Abstracts due: 1st July 2020
Submissions due: 1st August 2020

Please submit an abstract of 500 words that describes your modelling or experimental objectives, the methods employed, and the novelty of the outcomes

Submit an abstract  

Conference Chairs

Conference Chair

Dr Bianca Howard
Loughborough University

Scientific Co-Chair

Dr Eleonora Brembilla
Loughborough University

Scientific Co-Chair

Dr Argyris Oraiopoulos
Loughborough University

Organising Committee

Prof. Malcolm Cook
Loughborough University

Prof. Jonathan Wright
Loughborough University

Dr. Ruchi Choudhary
Cambridge University

Dr. Bianca Howard
Loughborough University


United Kingdom

Dr.David Allinson
Dr. Clarice Bleil De Souza
Dr. Eleonora Brembilla
Dr. Alexander Brownlee
Prof. Joe Clarke
Dr. Daniel Coakley
Prof David Coley
Prof. Malcolm Cook
Prof Pieter de Wilde
Dr. Amira Elnokaly

Dr. Steven Firth
Dr. Shaun Fitzgerald
Dr. Neveen Hamza
Prof. Victor Hanby
Dr. Bianca Howard
Dr. Nick Kelly
Prof. Kevin Lomas
Dr. Liora Malki-Epshtein
Prof. John Mardalijevic
Prof. Ljiljana Marjanovic-Halburd

Dr. Anna Mavrogianni
Prof. Dejan Mumovic
Mr. Edward Murphy
Dr. Sukumar Natarajan
Dr. Elli Nikolaidou
Dr. Argyris Oraiopoulos
Mr. Bertug Ozarisoy
Dr. James Parker
Dr. Rokia Raslan
Prof. Darren Robinson

Dr. Dimitrios Rovas
Dr. Paul Strachan
Dr. Minna Sunikka-Blank
Mr. Riccardo Talami
Ms. Rebecca Ward
Prof. Jonathan Wright
Dr. Yupeng Wu


Prof. Marilyne Andersen
Dr. Jerome Kaempf
Dr. Rongling Li
Dr. Ala Hasan
Dr. Mattia De Rosa
Dr. Donal Finn
Dr. Dominic O'Sullivan
Prof. Jan Hensen
Prof. Christina Hopfe

North America

Prof. Ian Beausoleil-Morrison
Dr. Ralph Evins
Prof. Michaƫl Kummert
Dr. Dru Crawley
Dr. Tianzhen Hong
Dr. Ralph Muehleisen
Dr. Janet Reyna


Dr. Asal Bidarmaghz
Prof. Tian Wei
Prof. Da Yan
Prof. Cheol-Soo Park
Dr. Adrian Chong
Prof. Chao Yuan

Contact us

Dr Bianca Howard
Loughborough University